, , , , , , ,

All of my colonies have overwintered successfully, so once again I will be selling my surplus honey bee colonies this year.

The colonies are naturally occurring swarms from my own colonies, that I will have housed on clean foundation, fed, and brought on until they are ready to be sold.

The advantages of this system are that you get the hygiene, vigour, and correct composition of a natural swarm, but with the advantage of traceability. Knowing where they have come from, and their disease status. Something that is missing with a swarm from an unknown colony.

I think that this is a good way of producing colonies. It’s much more natural, less intrusive, and works well for me.

To find out more about my bees, and how I manage them, take a look around the blog, and judge for yourself.

If you are interested in buying honey bees this year, give me a ring on 01507 588543.

Wishing you well