Tags

, , ,

A few days ago I was presented with this.

bamboo in wheelbarrow

bamboo in wheelbarrow

It’s a new shoot of Phyllostachys viridiglaucescens, and was brought to me by a mate. He dug it up from Vic’s place, and I’ve posted pictures of the bamboo at his place before bamboo pictures.

My friend Roy dug some of the shoots up, as Vic was going to mow them down. With the dry weather, most of the feeding/watering roots were deep down, so these shoots are likely to struggle to establish, but they were due for destruction anyway, so it was worth the risk.

I was in  a hurry, so I decided to put it in an old heap of leaf mould, having given it a good soaking, before and after planting. I did check to see if there were viable buds on the rhizome, and was pleased to see this.

rhizome buda

rhizome buds

The buds are in the background.

P. viridiglaucescens shoot

P. viridiglaucescens shoot

The picture above shows the plant in it’s temporary home. Once it gets established, it will be planted in the Forest Garden.

The Winter did some damage to some of my bamboo in pots, with four looking like they will not make it. It’s not too late for them to recover, but it doesn’t look good. None of the bamboo planted out has been killed by the cold.

Others are thriving.

Phyllostachys nuda

Phyllostachys nuda

Here you can see four new shoots on a Phllostachys nuda. Two top right, and two smaller ones bottom center of the picture. I have another planted in the Forest garden, and it is also producing new shoots.

Fargesia Rufa

Fargesia Rufa

This is a Fargesia rufa that I bought earlier this year. In the picture below you can see some of the new shoots, although there were some earlier in the year, which are less easy to identify.

Fargesia Rufa shoots

Fargesia Rufa shoots

I also bought a Phyllostachys propinqua at the same time as the Fargesia rufa. It had flowered, which is often the end of a bamboo, but I was advised that it seemed to recover. Well mine seems to be flowering again.

Phyllostachys Propinqua flowering

Phyllostachys Propinqua flowering

All in all things have gone well, but the hard Winter hit some of the potted plants quite hard. Re-checking my list of qualities and characteristics it seems that the plants that were hardest hit were borderline hardy at -18 C. Two of the bamboo that will tolerate lower temperatures are Phyllostachys nuda, and aureosulcata. If the colder Winters continue, then concentrating on these will be worth considering.

Take care

Deano